Park University to Host “Night at the Helm” Fundraising Event on June 6

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Share this article:

Night At The HelmEvent to Benefit Global Warrior Center and International Center for Music

Park University’s annual “Night at the Helm” event (formerly known as “Ballyhoo), which raises funds each year for University programs and scholarships, will be held on Tuesday, June 6, at the National World War I Museum and Memorial in Kansas City, Mo., starting at 6 p.m.

The Kansas City community is invited to attend this celebration of the U.S. military through music. Proceeds from the event will benefit two of the University’s most iconic programs — the Global Warrior Center and the International Center for Music.

As part of Park University’s Department for Military and Veteran Student Services, the Global Warrior Center provides free academic and person resources for all active duty and veteran students at Park’s flagship campus in Parkville as well as military students at Park’s 39 other campuses across the country. The GWC also supports soldiers and veterans who are not currently students; no one is turned away.

The International Center for Music trains and educates the next generation of accomplished musicians for careers in music at the highest level, in a focused and creative atmosphere with an international faculty of renowned excellence. The ICM is a bastion of talent, producing high-caliber concert performers, such as pianist Behzod Abduraimov, winner of the 2009 London International Piano Competition and ICM artist-in-residence, and violinist David Radzynski, who serves as concertmaster for the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra.

Night at the Helm CommitteeNight at the Helm sponsorship levels begin at $500 and individual tickets are available for $250. To secure a sponsorship, make a donation or for more information, visit or contact Nathan Marticke, associate vice president of university advancement, at / (816) 584-6200.

Pictured in adjacent photo is the Night at the Helm committee – (from left), Benny Lee, Richard Keller, Jeanette Prenger, Lynn Craghead and Kimberlee Ried.