Student Leaders Selected as Resident Assistants and First-Year Experience Mentors at Park University for 2016-17

Monday, April 4, 2016

Share this article:

Park University’s Office of Student Life has announced those students who have been appointed to serve as resident assistants and first-year experience mentors for the 2016-17 academic year.

Resident assistants serve as the primary contact and resource for an assigned residential community. In addition, they facilitate campus involvement and serve as role models academically and socially to the entire student body. They conduct programs to foster community, while assisting students with personal development throughout the year.

First-year experience mentors make up the primary staff for the First-Year Experience Program. The mentors are assigned to first-year course sections, where they implement lateral learning opportunities. Their duty is to connect in-classroom lessons with outside-the-classroom experiences on the University’s Parkville Campus. Additionally, the mentors serve as role models, demonstrating appropriate academic and personal behavior, and promote retention by advising new students through first year-development issues.

Those selected to serve as resident assistant staff for the 2016-17 academic year (name, major, hometown and high school attended, if known):
          •  Bridget Barta, junior secondary education and English education major, Monett, Mo. (attended Monett High School)
          •  James Berry, junior athletic training major, Olathe, Kan. (attended Olathe North High School)
          •  Hannah Bertram, junior English writing major, Cameron, Mo.
          •  Aaliyah Brown, sophomore fitness and wellness major, St. Louis, Mo.
          •  Kenneth John Courtney, sophomore secondary education major, Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
          •  Emma Givens, sophomore business administration/marketing major, Kansas City, Mo. (attended Raytown [Mo.] High School)
          •  David Jackson II, junior criminal justice/law enforcement major, Hazelwood, Mo. (attended Hazelwood West High School)
          •  Max Mohr, junior communication arts/photojournalism major, Hale, Mo. (attended Hale High School)
          •  Ayla Parham, senior secondary education and biology major, Rogersville, Mo. (attended Clever [Mo.] High School)
          •  Nyshele Posey, junior biology major, Kansas City, Mo. (attended Liberty [Mo.] High School)
          •  Moira Potter, senior social psychology major, St. Charles, Mo.
          •  Tobias Styrstrom, senior business administration/international business major, Mariehamn, Finland
          •  Logan Trowbridge, sophomore chemistry major, Blue Springs, Mo. (attended Blue Springs South High School)

Those selected to serve as first-year experience mentors for the 2016-17 academic year (name, major, hometown and high school attended, if known):
          •  Baili Beachner, sophomore organizational communication major, Grain Valley, Mo. (attended Grain Valley High School)
          •  Doug Dowell, junior business administration/management major, Olathe, Kan. (attended Blue Valley West High School, Overland Park, Kan.)
          •  Gabrielle Dunnick, junior secondary education major, Wolcott, Conn.
          •  Troy Elliott, senior secondary education and fine art major, Smithville, Mo. (attended Smithville High School)
          •  Kaitlyn Friesner, junior elementary education major, Sioux Falls, S.D. (attended Washington High School)
          •  Abby Jeans, sophomore elementary education major, Platte City, Mo.
          •  Aleah Lua, junior business administration/marketing major, Oakland, Calif. (attended Mount Eden High School, Hayward, Calif.)
          •  Rafael Marin Castaneda, freshman business administration/marketing major, Kansas City, Mo. (attended Cristo Rey High School)
          •  Armando Moran, sophomore business administration/management major, Kansas City, Mo. (attended Bishop Ward High School, Kansas City, Kan.)
          •  Samuel Morgan, sophomore information and computer science/software engineering major, South Chesterfield, Va.
          •  Iroda Narzullaeva, sophomore information and computer science/software engineering major, Samarkand, Uzbekistan
          •  Jessica Pham, sophomore chemistry major, Kansas City, Mo. (attended Oak Park High School)
          •  Rory Tucker, junior psychology major, Vermillion, S.D. (attended Vermillion High School)
          •  Eva Watson, sophomore organizational communication major, Sugar Creek, Mo. (attended Center Place Restoration School, Independence, Mo.)
          •  Hannah White, sophomore psychology major, Lenexa, Kan. (attended Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee, Kan.)